Grape jam

So, I have a lot of grapes harvested from the garden, but not quite enough to make wine with. I can’t physically eat all of them and since they are seeded grapes, I can’t make them into raisins. Besides, there is not enough sun here to raisinify (Yes, it is a word. Just because I made it up, doesn’t mean it is less of a word) grapes.

It would be a shame to let the grapes rot away, so I decided to make jam!

Firstly, I took 1kg of grapes, cleaned and destalked them. Then I put them in a pot with 500ml of water and gently simmered for about 45 minutes until the grapes are soft and broken.

After all the grapes are mushed up by the cooking, I removed the seeds from the pot (painfully long process, involving bowls, sieves and fingers).

Once it was ready, I cleaned the perserving jars with boiling water and then popped them into the oven (fan assisted) to dry for 10 minutes at 140 degree celcius.

When the jars are being sterilised in the oven, I put the mushed grape mixture on a very high heat. Once it started boiling, I slowly added in 500g of sugar, stirring clockwise.

When the sugar had fully dissolved and the mixture started boil like an angry thing, I stopped stirring and let the crazy boil to continue for 5 minutes. After that, I popped in the cooking thermometer and waited a bit more until the temperature of the jam reaches the setting point of 104 degree celcius.

Once done, I turned both the hob (jam) and the oven (jars) off. I gave the jam a few clockwise stirs to make the mixture “even” and poured it into the sterilised jars.

Well, I am off now to make some bread. Once that’s done, I will tell you what the jam tastes like.

8 thoughts on “Grape jam

  1. Did the jam set? Most of my jam making ventures have ended up down the sink. Does look yummy though… peanut butter and grape jam sandwiches – YUM!

      • Hmm… let’s see – damson – my friend had a tree – first lot was too sour, 2nd too sweet – it did set.

        Chilli Jam – this one set after 3 months in the fridge!

        Lemon, lime and orange – didn’t really set that well even though there’s lots of pectin in citrus peel and pips (I put them into a bag). Bitter aftertaste because of the peel.

        Lemon (remember we have 2 lemon trees) – this time I thought of just doing a jelly, so I juiced the lemons. I used pectin sugar the first time – no set and ended up burnt. 2nd time – normal sugar and the pips (strained later) – still no set (more syrupy than jelly).

        So I am giving up and leaving it up to the experts…. πŸ™‚ All my attempts have been very unsuccessful.

Leave a comment